Core steps in decision making… problems, challenges and mindset.

An interesting read with some great diagrams that made it much clearer. Step one, get the mindset right. I started to think about this on my run today and how I view problems and challenges. I asked myself the question, did I ever see a physical activity as a problem or did I always see it as a challenge? Well I realised I always saw it as a challenge.

I’ve been very lucky in my life and have been able to try out new things. I’ve trekked for 5 days along the Great Wall, kayaked in Thailand, Sri Lanka and Vietnam, trekked for a week in Nepal, walked coast to coast in the UK and run a marathon. Was it ever a problem? No, it was always the mindset. So what now interests me is why, if it is physical it is a challenge, but never a problem.

Lance Armstrong’s come back from cancer was not a problem, climbing Mount Everest is not viewed as a problem, swimming the Channel… not a problem… why do we perceive these things differently to situations that arise in our daily lives?
If we perceived the everyday as challenges too we would perhaps be more successful. We would have that positive mindset with which to approach the ‘problems’. These everyday situations that need attention should be seen as opportunities just as walking the Cumbrian Way or the Overland Track is. They are of course different opportunities but both may change the way we think about things. Opportunities encourage us to innovate and think creatively and this combined with a trusting an supportive environment creates a situation that is more conducive to meeting challenges.

Harvey, T.R., Bearley, W.L. & Corkrum, S. M. (2001) Core steps in decision making. In The practical decision maker: a handbook for decision making and problem solving in organisations (pp.17-34). Lancaster, Pa.: Technomic.

Leave a Reply

