Collaboration

Many of the readings I read this weekend related to collaboration. I am pleased to say that after sitting in on many meetings last week collaboration has begun to happen. I am working closely with the 3’s and team teaching. 3 teachers in the LC with 60 kids. Looking at signage and how they can work collaboratively to create some for the younger children. After the readings I realise we need to define roles for ourselves. Who will lead which bit perhaps and who will take their students into which room etc etc. I need to clarify tht before tomorrows lesson. With the 4s it has been patchy but lots of e mail communication with the 5s. Off to a bumpy start as I thought we could launch into a mini inquiry but to be honest I don’t think they have the skills yet…so it may be tree octopus and some web site evaluation. Year 6 is working in parts. A mini unit on Dewey and I’m working really well with 1 member of the team. I’m a bit worried about working with the others as I’m not sure they want me but in for a penny, in for a pound and I need to try it to find out. Year 1 and 2 are just settling in but are keen to be involved, we just need to make it a more 2 way process.

If I had not read about collaboration I would probably be doing it because my PYP co-ordinator insists on it however I would not understand why. Now I have some understanding and am able to support her and in doing so hopefully impact the children’s learning in a positive way.

I now need to start writing assignment 2. It seems to be creeping up on me and I feel like I am drowning at work. I need to make time and realise that Rome was not built in a day!

Leave a Reply

